Chapter 2: Undying Love

It must be a thirteenth year… because nothing but the sound of cicadas can be heard.  It’s not what I expected. It’s not how it was supposed to end. We were supposed to be together…

 

“Tom-Tom, what are you smiling about?” she said with a playful giggle as she hugged me from behind and then poked her head over my shoulder to see. I loved that smile of hers. She had thin lips that gave her a kind of permanent smile, and it made everything she said seem like it was filled with happiness. She wasn’t traditionally beautiful, but to me, she was the most beautiful woman in the world.

 

“Oh, what? This old thing?” I replied to her coyly as I showed her, knowing fully well that I had just purchased the pendant the day before from an antique shop in Baltimore. I don’t know why I still had the receipt. I knew she would like it and would never return it. I guess it’s just a part of me to document everything. It’s an occupational hazard I guess.

 

The look on her face was almost indescribable. It was a mix of wonder and curiosity. “Oh, that’s beautiful. Who’s is it? Your mistresses’?” she said with a smirk. “Oh, she is going to be so pissed when she sees me wearing it.” She laughed… and I tickled her. I’ll miss that sarcastic sense of humor. I’ll miss the small things. I’m so sorry, I tried baby. I’m still coming home… I’ll fight this. I’m coming for you Angie, hang on… But, I’m so tired.

 

 

Why’s it so cold? What… what’s that noise? Sounds like… cicadas. It must be a thirteenth year. What was it that he’d said again? “Shoot them in the head, sir.”… I should have aimed higher.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 2: Undying Love

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

